Fall!

Fall in Houston. Note the lush greenery and flowers.

Melanie Shepard Stephens: It’s fall!  It’s cool out!

Mom (in Chicago): Oh really?  It’s been hot here.

MSS:  It’s sooooo nice out!  It’s 88 degrees!

Mom:  That’s what it is here too!

Hello everyone and welcome to fall!  As much as I love Houston and even though I moved here to get away from the freezing winters (and springs) of Chicago, I get kind of bummed this time of year.  While much of the country is breaking out their sweaters I’m sitting inside my super air-conditioned house in shorts and a t-shirt longing for the trappings of autumn.  This year I’m doing my best to pretend the air is turning crisp and I’m treating fall as it should be treated…with spicy scents and yummy food and warm beverages.  Here are some of the things I’m excited about:

Cranberry, apple, walnut, flax seed, wheat germ, and spice oatmeal. Yum!
Caramel Apple Pops. I forgot how much I love them!
Pumpkin Spice Lattes!!!!
Fall candles sent by my mom 🙂

I hope everyone makes the most of the new season!  Since my summer ended up being kind of blah, I’m super psyched for the change!

I’ll be taking a couple of days off to go to Austin for my friends’ wedding.  I’ll tell you all about it when I get back!

Love,

Mel

Leave a Reply

