Weekends!

Me. 1996. Houston Ballet.

Did you have a relaxing weekend?  I did!  I did absolutely nothing.  Actually that’s not true, I took a bubble bath at 2:00 in the afternoon on Saturday, and I did leave the house to eat sushi with some friends Saturday night, but then I came home and sat on the couch.  I really really needed a lazy weekend.  I realized when I was lounging in bed all morning (both mornings) that I haven’t done that since we bought our new comfy mattress over a year ago.  What’s the point of having a nice mattress if you don’t enjoy it?  Of course my house is still dirty, my Christmas decorations are still up, and I skipped both the gym and church, but I feel so much better.  Worth it.

We almost went to see Black Swan on Sunday, but I HATE HATE HATE ballet movies.  As a former ballet dancer (a serious one for 15 years, not as much for the next 6, and not at all now…boo!) I simply cannot stand them.  So, even though I LOVE LOVE LOVE movies and like to see as many Oscar contenders as possible ballet movies bum me out and the bad dancing always distracts me, so I think I’m going to pass on this one.  For now at least.

So back to weekends.  I have a BIG problem.  I love weekends.  I love the relief of Friday evenings, the gym/breakfast/SpongeBob/cleaning routine of Saturday, seeing friends Saturday night, church Sunday morning followed by a nap…you get the idea.  Anyway, so many of the jobs that I would like to do would require weekend hours.  All of my friends are lawyers and accountants.  I want to be off when they’re off.  I think I’m going to have to budge on either the weekend or the job expectations.  Maybe if I found a job that I loved I wouldn’t care?  I need to think about this.  Anyone out there know what my priorities are?  I’m starting to worry that I’m not going to like them.

Anyway, I hope you had the BEST weekend, and I hope this is the BEST week!

Love,

Mel

One thought on “Weekends!

  1. Might I suggest…
    Wait until Black Swan comes out on DVD, then wine + chocolate + DVD = so what if the dancing is sucky, you’ve got wine and chocolate! And you can groan and make fun of the dancing to your heart’s content. Can’t beat that! BTW, I haven’t seen the movie either, and will probably wait till DVD. Not cause of the dancing, but because the only movie theater I will go to around here is on base, and they will only play that movie one weekend and I will probably miss it. Plus, there will be chocolate but no wine…

    So I saw a pic of Jake in front of the Washignton Monument (probably old pic?). Next time you are coming here, call me cause I only live an hour and a half away!

    Love you!

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

