Chicken!

So, I’ve mentioned here before that the hubs and I (ok, it’s mostly me) like to keep our meals healthy.  I also want them to be cheap, easy, delicious, and the appropriate quantity for two people all at the same time and of course, that’s almost impossible.  Also, my mom really liked my Pancake! entry, so I thought I’d include another food post and what’s better than why I love chicken?  Just to be clear, I don’t do this every week because I can only eat chicken so many times in a row before I want to barf, but these tips are good for a busy week.

Monday Night: Either roast a whole chicken yourself (healthy!) or buy a pre-roasted chicken at the grocery store (Easy…but your car will smell like chicken!)  Eat some of the chicken for dinner with easy to heat up veggies.  This week we did sweet potato (in the microwave) and brussels sprouts (sauteed in olive oil with salt and pepper), but you can do whatever you want!  Then pop the rest of the chicken in the refrigerator.

Tuesday Night: The next day use some of the chicken to make soup or white chicken chili!  I made this white chicken chili this week, and it was yummy.  Put leftovers in the fridge.

Wednesday Night: Chicken casserole.  Use the rest of your chicken to make chicken noodle casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole:

Boil whole wheat pasta until tender, remove chicken from carcass (hehe),                 and saute some carrots, onions, celery, and garlic.  Mix pasta, one can of                   cream of mushroom or cream of chicken soup, chicken and veggies and put               into square casserole pan.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese and bake at 350                   until cheese is melty.  (Sorry I wasn’t clear on the quantities of the                                 ingredients.  Wing it!  Cooking should be fun!)

Thursday Night: Chicken Chili again!

Friday Night: Get takeout or go out to dinner.  It’s Friday night for crying out loud!

Can you tell I’m not getting awesome blogging inspiration this week?  Sheesh!  Oh well, maybe this will help one of you.  I hope you’re having the BEST Thursday!

Love,

Mel

Leave a Reply

