Your Highness!

Hello!  Monday Movie Review is on Tuesday this week.  Not great, but better than last week at least!  I hope you had a rad weekend!  Mine was pretty great, but I’ll tell you about it some other time.  I have a movie to review!

I don’t know if you’ve read any other reviews of Your Highness, but they are all pretty extreme.  This is definitely a love or hate movie, but I went with the hubs and our friends Lindsey and Justin and we all loved it!  It was a perfect Sunday night movie.

I guess this movie would only appeal to a certain type of person, but really there is something for everyone (unless you’re a stick in the mud).  Do you like “The Princess Bride,” “Clash of the Titans,” “Stardust,” “The Sword in the Stone,” “Rapunzel,” “Star Wars,” stupid comedies, adventure, James Franco/Natalie Portman/Danny McBride/Zooey Deschanel/cool kids in general?  Ok good.  You’ll like this movie!

This movie has been called a hybrid of “The Princess Bride” and “Pineapple Express” but really with the exception of common stars and a few references to smoking early on, the movie isn’t really a true stoner comedy.  It is a true regular comedy though…although we were discussing on the way home that pretty much all of the quotes we came away with cannot be said in the presence of polite company.  Still Natalie Portman’s uttering of a dirty word was awesome, because you know, it’s Natalie Portman who aside from this is pretty staid.  It was nice to see her in a lighter movie for once even though her character was still more action hero than comic relief.  Her character was sexier than normal…hello butt cheeks!  The comedy was mostly left to McBride (not surprisingly) and some unexpected gags.  McBride played his role perfectly, but he should have.  He wrote it.

James was awesome too.  I’ve been going back and forth about whether or not I love him or hate him, but I think I’ve settled on love.  I mean, sure he’s super busy and weird, but I like weird.  Plus he’s dreamy (see above).  He was really perfectly cast as Fabious.  He looks like a prince but he acts like a doofus.  Perf.  Just like our beloved Wesley.  I also loved Zooey as Belladonna because I always love Zooey but I wish there had been more of her (although her character is pretty dull until the end).

Anyway, I would definitely recommend this movie, but don’t be mad at me if you hate it!

Love,

Mel

 

Leave a Reply

