Swingin’ Chandeliers

I’ve lived in my house for three and a half years, and we’ve done a TON of work on it…but we still have a very, very long way to go!  For example, we have yet to replace the light fixtures, and it’s a real problem.  I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THEM!  The previous owners seemingly just went to the local hardware store and bought whatever was on sale.  When you walk through our front door you see a modern ceiling fan, and even more modern light fixture over the fireplace (which is a whole different post, that baby needs some love!), then if you look straight through there is another modern light with two fans in the kitchen that makes me feel like I’m going to be dive bombed by a WWII plane, coupled with a traditional pendant light that desperately needs to be removed.  The worst, though, is the giant, hideous, Tuscan style chandelier in the dining room.  RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF MY HOUSE.  I’m assuming they thought “hmm, Tuscany is fancy, this will make our dining room formal!” but then totally forgot that you can see into the other rooms.  I have no idea.  I will never figure these people out.  Here are some shots from before we moved in:

W. 43rd_009 kitchen dining room living room fireplace

Anyway, after much photoshopping and blog hopping and pinning and thinking, I finally decided for sure what style of chandelier I want.  Since my ideal style would best be described as the lovechild of mid-century glam and Hollywood regency (that’s a thing, right?) I really couldn’t resist the idea of a sputnik chandelier.  I LOVE them.  LOVE.  My husband is not really on board, but he also didn’t think we could paint the dining room black, but we did and it works.  No one should question me.  Anyway, I have it narrowed down to four.  Behold:

chandelier

(One, Two, Three, Four)

Now the question is do I choose the obvious and go brass because it’s all the rage, or is brass so totally 2014 that I’ll hate it within 5 minutes?  I mean, in 2015 copper is the new girl with the mini skirt and IDGAF attitude.  Do I want to be her?  Yes.  But they don’t make sputniks in copper yet.  Do I do chrome/nickel and stick with the existing scheme of all my fixtures?  I can’t decide, which is really unlike me.  Feel free to chime in if you have an opinion.  In the meantime I’ll be Googling pictures of chandeliers.

Leave a Reply

