Chia: A Funny Story and a Yummy Breakfast

ch ch ch chia

*One time when I was in the sixth grade we had to watch a video on becoming a woman.  I’m sure you did the same.  There was one girl, Lizzie, who took it upon herself to sing “ch-ch-ch-chia!” as the animated woman grew pubes.  It was hilarious, and now that I’m an adult, I’m in awe of the comedic genius that was that 11 year old girl.  Bravo, Lizzie, wherever you are.*

chia 2

Ok, so breakfast isn’t the most interesting topic, but hey, we all gotta eat.  Back in the days of my youth (and during the first go around of this blog), I was super into health and fitness.  I worked out all the time, I was the insufferable health nut at the office that said things like “uh, I don’t eat sugar” and “you should totally take the stairs ” (sorry coworkers).  Two back-to-back babies later, and I never (ever) work out, and since my younger kid was born last April my diet mostly consists of sugar + whatever healthy thing my kids eat for dinner + a glass of wine after bedtime.  In the interest of being an adult, however, I’ve decided to ditch the daily doughnut and instead eat a nutritious breakfast (and replace the wine with tea, most nights).  I’m not going for a total overhaul of my diet, but instead trying to put in more nutrients and take out the sugar gradually so I don’t even notice it’s gone (ha).

My current healthy fave is chia pudding.  I’m totally tardy to the party on this.  I always thought it sounded gross and assumed it was a lot of work.  It’s neither of those things!  You guys!  It’s so good and so easy!  All you have to do is mix 12 ounces of liquid with 1/4 cup chia seeds and put it in the refrigerator.  I do it at night, and in the morning I have delicious breakfast pudding.  Also, if you call something pudding it makes it sound like dessert!

My recipe (if you can call two ingredients a recipe):

12 ounces coconut milk

1/4 cup chia seeds

Put it in a bowl, and put that bowl in the refrigerator.

Add topping of your choice.

chia 1

What are my toppings of choice?  I’m glad you asked!

Strawberry/Blueberry/Raspberry/Almond

Banana/Peanut/Honey/Cinnamon

Blackberry/Peach/Almond

And my 100% All Time Favorite

Mango/Black Cherry/Pecan/Dark Chocolate Chips

I’m definitely going to keep experimenting.  I want to try to make a chocolate version because, yum.  I also plan to give chia jelly a go.  I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

