Stuff New Parents Need

There are countless lists on countless blogs (including this one) detailing every little thing your baby will need.  Items you simply MUST put on your registry.  That’s great, because if you’ve never had a baby you’re likely pretty clueless about baby gear.  The thing is, though, if you’re clueless about what babies need, you’re probably even more clueless as to what havoc they will bring to your life.  It’s nothing to be ashamed of, everyone starts out this way.  I’ve compiled a list of things that make a parent’s life easier.  If you’re gifting a new parent please please please stick to the registry (people really need the stuff on that list!), but if you want to make your gift extra special maybe add in an item or two below.  And bring food.  Food is always a good idea.


parent gear


“Waterproof” Mattress Pad:  Having a baby comes with a lot of bodily fluids.  Your water could break in the middle of the night.  There’s a good chance you will have all of the following on your bed in the first few weeks of having a baby (sorry in advance for this super gross list): blood, milk, pee, and vomit.  Even if your baby doesn’t sleep in bed with you, somehow it will happen.  It just will.  Protect thy mattress.

Oxi Clean Spray and Powder: When the above happens to your sheets (and your clothes, and your baby’s clothes), these are what you will need.     A good soak in hot water and Oxi Clean is the only thing I’ve found that will get out a poop blowout, and (murderers, look away!) the Oxi Spray is a miracle on blood!  It will also take out berry and spaghetti stains when your kid hits the “smear berries and spaghetti sauce all over my body” phase of eating solids.  I’ve also used Oxi spray on red wine spilled on a white rug, and the stain disappeared before my eyes.  Magic.

Tide To Go Pen:  Keep one in your diaper bag at all times.

Keurig Mini: I don’t have one of these.  I had a traditional coffee maker when my kids were born (that I broke), and then I got a French press.  I love that shiny little baby, but honestly I don’t really have six minutes to fuss over my morning coffee.  I’m thinking about adding this baby to my rotation.  The coffee might not be as good, but the caffeine is.

Travel Mug: So you don’t spill hot coffee or tea on your sweet little baby/so your sweet little toddler doesn’t spill it on you.

Wine Sippy Cup: For the same reasons as above.  It’s probably not good parenting to spill wine on your baby’s face.

Wine Cube: Like the Keurig vs French Press we have a quality over convenience issue.  Really, if you’re nursing a box of wine is the way to go.  You can have just one glass (related tip coming up next week), and the wine stays fresh much longer than it would in an open bottle.

Baskets:  Baskets, baskets, baskets.  I could write a whole book of sonnets on my love of baskets (seriously, I took some pretty intensive poetry classes in college…English major, yo!).  Maybe you’re the type of person who is super organized and puts every little thing in it’s perfectly prepared place right after you use it.  I’m not one of these people.  I’m, honestly, pretty messy, and keeping things tidy with small kids is nearly impossible.  My solution is baskets.  I have baskets for toys, baskets for mail, baskets for laundry, and makeup, and toothpaste, and remote controls.  They’re genius.  They’re fake organization!  I can pick up a whole room in a matter of seconds because I just throw everything in the appropriate(ish) basket.  Things look tidy, but with minimal effort.  My kind of housework!

There you have it!  Feel free to contribute anything that helped you in your time of need in the comment section!

One thought on “Stuff New Parents Need

Leave a Reply

