Keep It Simple, Stupid

How I spend my lunch hour: eating gross food in my car.
How I spend my lunch hour: eating fast food in my car while running errands.

I’ve never been one to keep things simple.  I tend to overdo, over-plan, and over-whelm.  There’s definitely a feminist message in there: you can minor in gender studies all you want, but that doesn’t make it easy to crawl out from under the expectations of women.  I always joke (because I’m HILARIOUS) that I have three full time jobs : my actual full-time day job, my mom job, and the third and hardest job – the totally manufactured and unnecessary job of keeping up with society’s expectations.  The good news is as I get older, I’m finding that I’m starting to give zero fucks about the last one.  Ok, maybe not zero yet, but I’m getting there.  I’m turning 32 this weekend, and this year my resolution is to simplify my life.  EVERYTHING about my life.  Here’s what I’m thinking so far:

I need to get rid of the crap that is taking over my house.  ALL OF IT.  Like 80% of my belongings.  This book has been recommended by the entire internet, so that means it will definitely fix my life. Right?

Simplifying my kids’ routine seems worth a try (even if it’s fruitless).  I’ve been working on something like this, but in the interest of simplicity maybe I’ll just buy one.

I love the idea of a dinner schedule.  I had a similar idea that I quickly gave up on because it took a ton of planning, but it would be so awesome to have a loose theme to go on.  You could make a different kind of taco every week to avoid a rut, but still know you make tacos on Tuesday.  I would love to extend it to other meals and snacks as well.

I’ve thought about coming up with a work uniform for YEARS.  What will I wear?  I’m kind of thinking I’ll go more of the capsule wardrobe route than full-on uniform, but I have a TON of clothes and hardly anything to wear.  I would like to reverse that situation.  My husband wears suits to work, and he gets completely dressed every day while I’m still standing in my closet with a blank look on my face.

It’s also time to return to a paper day planner.  I love my iPhone as much as the next millennial mom (and by love, I mean hopelessly addicted to the detriment of myself and those around me), but it’s just so much easier to be organized on paper.  More of my thoughts on this here.

I would much rather spend my time doing this than running sad lunch errands.
I would much rather spend my time doing this than running sad lunch errands.

I have no idea how or when I’m going to implement these changes.  Per usual, I’m over-thinking and over-complicating the process, but I’m hoping I can get started soon! I’ll keep you posted!

One thought on “Keep It Simple, Stupid

  1. Pingback: Recovery Mode. |

Leave a Reply

