Ok, I’m ready to tell you about my light fixtures now.

It’s Friday, let’s talk about something fun.

living room fireplace
Before We Moved In
kitchen dining room
Before We Moved In

We moved into our house four years ago, and you would barely know it.  To be fair, I have been pregnant or taking care of an infant for 100% of that time (until now), and with tiny kids, full-time jobs, and wanting to also do things like “go outside” and “see people” we kind of dragged our feet on a lot of our improvements, but no more!  We’re still doing things the slow and steady way, but making more of a concerted effort to actually make progress.  I should warn you that I suffer from two conflicting afflictions:  I have really expensive tastes, and I’m super super cheap.  Why I have been cursed with this problem, I don’t know, but I like to think it’s so I can tell people how to appear fancy while not blowing their wine money.  I mean, what’s the point of a chandelier if you can’t afford to drink champagne under it?  AMIRIGHT?

We actually replaced three light fixtures that you can see when you come in from our front or back door, so the terrible lights that were there before were really harshing the vibe of the house, and I love to give a good first impression.  The previous owners had, er, interesting taste (more like no taste), so not only were the original fixtures inappropriate for the house, but they didn’t even match each other.  This is probably getting pretty boring, I’ll skip to the good stuff.

before new lights
Right Before The New Lights (Still Trying to Decide How to Handle that Fireplace)

The Kitchen:

kitchen fan
Kitchen Light: Before

People really liked this double fan, and I’ll admit it wasn’t horrible, except that it was too big for the room, when it was going full force it made terrible noises, it didn’t let off much light, and you needed a remote control to operate it.  Plus, it just isn’t my taste.

new kitchen
Kitchen Light: After

So we put this one in instead.  It was the most expensive, and probably my least favorite (I do really like it), but it is pretty, and bright, and kitchen and bathroom rated.  It has the added benefit of making our ceiling feel higher, something I hadn’t noticed was an issue when the fan was there, but it really was.

 

The Living Room:

formal fan
Formal Living Room: Before
ja living
Formal Living Room: After

I love this one.  It’s so pretty, and bright, and because our house was built in the 1940s it really hearkens back to the original time period, while still being appropriate for today.  It makes the room feel much fancier than that cheap old ceiling fan, and while I think it needs a dimmer, it’s nice to have some light when we’re playing and hanging out with the kids (even though we do most of that in a different room).  I mostly just like it because I like it, and that’s reason enough for me.

The Dining Room:

dining room monster
Dining Room: Before

This is the best part.  If you’ve been reading for a while, you know I was looking for the perfect sputnik chandelier, but I’ve also been a bit worried that they were too trendy and I didn’t want to drop thousands of dollars for something I would get tired of in two years.  After much googling, and found the PERFECT solution.  Lowe’s had a sputnik chandelier for sale for $198…a steal because the light bulbs are included.  Amazing, considering they’re generally pretty expensive; however, being a hardware store, and not a designer they only had chrome.  So I spray painted it gold, and voila!  The brass sputnik of my dreams, for super cheap, so I don’t have to feel guilty if I get tired of it…which I don’t think I will because I’m in love.

sputnik love
Dining Room: After

 

And there you have it.  We have about a million other tasks to tackle.  The front living room is almost finished, but the curtains I bought are back ordered until November, which kills me.  The dining room just needs some curtains, and the kitchen needs new everything.  Ugh.  I won’t even get into the rest of the house, but things are starting to come along, and it feels so good!  I’m ashamed to admit that I don’t have a good after picture to show the whole shebang, but I promise you’ll see about a million more pictures of my house in the future.

Have a good weekend!

3 thoughts on “Ok, I’m ready to tell you about my light fixtures now.

Leave a Reply

