Rest.

Happy 2016! I hope you experienced an abundance of both comfort and joy over the past couple of weeks, and while I hope you’re feeling refreshed, I also hope you don’t take your resolution setting and back to working too seriously.  We need to ease into these things.

rest

I approach resolutions differently every year.  Some years I make them, some years I ignore the tradition completely, but most years I use them as a chance to take stock of what I would like to change, without setting unreachable goals.  When I look back at the past couple of years, and what I have been struggling with, nearly every problem comes down to not getting enough rest.  It hasn’t really been up to me.  I had two babies in two years, the second of whom thought sleeping was for chumps until he finally realized the joys of a full night’s snooze at the ripe old age of 16 months.  I work full time, my husband works more than full time, and in 2014, well, let’s just say there was little chance for relaxation.  2015 was a big year of recovery for us.  I won’t say we are recovered, but we’ve settled back into our lives.  We have routines; our kids are no longer babies.  Things are as calm as they are likely to get, and so I want to harness this time to get my life back on track.

Since I’ve become a mother, so many things have slipped.  Totally normal, I know, but there are some things I would like to see happen again.  Like, eating healthy food, and going to the gym, and showering every day.  I know if I can start properly caring for myself again, it will be the best thing for my family and for work.  As I was taking stock I really realized that none of those things will happen if I keep staying up so late.  So, my resolution is to sleep more.  To go to bed at a reasonable hour.  To take some time to sit on the couch on the weekends.  If I can manage that, the gym and the vegetables and work (and keeping up with a lot more MelTown!) will all seem surmountable.  I’m not wired that way.  I would stay up all night and sleep all day if I could, but I’m hoping with a little practice I can ease into this new habit.

Oh yeah, and no more wine.  At least for a while.  Ugh.

Wishing you a calm and slightly boring year!

xo

 

Leave a Reply

