Resolution Buster: Chocolate Pie

monument pie

Have you ever been to Monument Cafe in Georgetown, TX?  Me neither!  Luckily for me though, my husband had a case up that way and he had a breakfast meeting before heading to court.  Long story short, the other lawyer ordered him a piece of pie, and not being one to eat pie for breakfast he brought it home for me (I eat pie at all hours).  You guys, it was AMAZING, and I don’t say that lightly.  Pie is my favorite desert, and I am nothing if not not discerning when it comes to quality.  Next time he went to Georgetown I made him buy a whole pie…and then I ate most of it myself.  Since we live a few hours from Georgetown and it’s not really realistic to hop in the car for that kind of trek when I get a hankering for pie, I decided I would carve out some time to try to recreate the magic myself.  This Christmas I managed to come really close and am both delighted and horrified by the results.  This kind of calorie bomb is best saved for special occasions.  Anyway, without boring you with more stories about me eating pie, here is the recipe:

Shopping List:

2 cups pecans

Unsalted butter

Vanilla Extract

Brown Sugar

32 ounces of cream (That’s right, the big one.  You’re going to use every drop!)

Eggs

White Sugar

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate

Powdered Sugar

Chocolate Bar

Crust (adapted from this recipe):

2 cups pecans

2 teaspoons melted butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

4 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon water

Ground one cup of pecans in a food processor until fine.  Add second cup and grind a few more seconds.  Add melted butter, brown sugar, vanilla, and water.  Mix until it forms a paste.

Press into a greased pie pan and bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes. Set aside until cool.

Filling:

I made this recipe.  My only note is that when it’s time to whip the cream you’re not going for creamy fluffiness.  You’re going for firmness.  Beat it to death.  Then spoon it into your pie crust and pop the whole thing in the refrigerator to chill.

Whipped Cream:

The rest of your cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Dark chocolate shavings

Beat until firm, plop it on top of the pie, add chocolate shavings to the top. Chill until serving.

This pie is definitely time and labor intensive, but it was SO GOOD.  It’s definitely worth a try! Enjoy!

One thought on “Resolution Buster: Chocolate Pie

Leave a Reply

